The Singers
  • Genre:Pop
  • Released:21/03/2011
  • Label:New Sound Dimensions
  • Price:$30.95
  • Add to cart

Contact us

Sign up to the newsletter

Keep in touch with our
monthy emails

Follow us on twitter

Become a fan on

Bookmark and Share
The Singers

Nouvelle Vague

As its title states, The Singers pays homage to the vocalists that complete Nouvelle Vague's atmospheric sound. This collection of songs from the singers' other projects just reaffirms why Marc Collin and Olivier Libaux chose these particular vocalists: tracks such as the delicate chamber folk of Melanie Pain's "Peut-Etre Pas" and Shana Halligan's lounge-y "Private Meeting" don't stray far from Nouvelle Vague territory. Indeed, the ambience is almost identical to a proper Nouvelle Vague album, minus some of the winking inherent in the band's recasting of new wave, post-punk, and synth pop into smoother sounds (although Nadeah Miranda's "At the Moment" boasts a simpatico cabaret flair). The Singers also covers more moods than a typical Nouvelle Vague album does, spanning Karina Zeviani's festive "Buiu" to Meeko featuring Eloisia's torchy, seductive "Perfume e Caricias." Other highlights include Phoebe Killdeer & the Short Straws' "Fade Out Lines," which ventures into smoky jazz, and the trip-hop stylings of "Nicole" by les Petroluses featuring Camille, probably one of the better-known singers outside of Nouvelle Vague's confines.

Track Listing

  • Melanie Pain - Peut-Etre Pas3.18 
  • Les Petroleuses Feat. Camille - Nicole4.10 
  • Shana Halligan - Private Meeting3.28 
  • Phoebe Killdeer And The Short Straws - Fade Out Lines3.32 
  • Meeko feat. Eloisia - Perfume e Caricias3.52 
  • Karina Zeviani - Buiu3.12 
  • Nadeah Miranda - At The Moment3.56 
  • Gerald Toto - Do You Dream4.26 
  • Jenia Lubich - Galaxy3.50 
  • Marina Celeste - Le Temps Elastique2.58 
  • Nouvelle Vague feat. Sophie Delila - My Girl2.50 
  • Helena Noguerra - If2.06 

Total running time: 41:38

Write Review