• Genre:Soul
  • Released:05/03/2013
  • Label:Truth & Soul Records
  • Price:$36.95
  • Add to cart

Contact us

Sign up to the newsletter

Keep in touch with our
monthy emails

Follow us on twitter

Become a fan on

Bookmark and Share


All you have to do is listen to Lady once, and you ll remember in case you forgot why they call it soul music. The honesty, the aching sweetness, the raw power of these singers and their songs will remind you that nothing can move you as much, or touch you as deeply, as two women with amazing voices singing in tight harmony. Lady is the new collaborative project by Terri Walker and Nicole Wray.

This unexpected transatlantic pairing was born out of a shared love of soul music and the resulting album also entitled Lady is a modern day interpretation of the classic sounds pioneered by labels such as Stax, Atlantic, and Motown. Lady unites the mellowness and pop flair of 60s soul with the driving beat of hip-hop, and the silky rhythms of modern R&B. These two powerful voices harmonize to create a fresh sound that tells the stories of growing up and never giving up, of love and friendship, of yearning and losing, bad girls and good hearts.

The lead single Money offers an overdue female perspective on the gold digger dynamic and has been accumulating plays and plaudits since emerging online. Other highlights include the self-assured strut of Get Ready, the dramatic, piano-driven Karma, Walker and Wray's tender tribute to their mothers in Sweet Lady and the heart-racing raunch of Good Lovin'. Lady s vocals switch smoothly from solos to seamless harmonies and are underpinned throughout by Leon Michels and Jeff Silverman's luscious production. Better know as Truth & Soul, Michels & Silverman write, produce and run a Brooklyn-based studio and label with a growing reputation. The multi-talented duo's credits include writing for Adele, production for Lee Fields & The Expressions and both writing and production on Aloe Blacc s Good Things album and its worldwide hit single, I Need A Dollar. Lady is an authentic original, drawing from the past to infuse the present with new power. Prepare to take your hat off to Lady. Get ready to fall in love. There has never been, there will never be, anything else like it.

Track Listing

  • Tell The Truth 4.37 
  • Money 3.44 
  • Hold On 3.09 
  • Get Ready 4.07 
  • Karma 4.01 
  • Sweet Lady 3.17 
  • Please Don't Do It Again 3.11 
  • Good Lovin 3.06 
  • Habit 3.56 
  • If You Wanna Be My Man 3.00 
  • Waiting On You 4.05 

Total running time: 40:13

Lady - Lady

Great 'Retro' authentic Soul from Nicole Wray & Terry Walker.

I couldn't get these songs out of my head after listening many times.  Highlights include 'Hold On' which would sound great on a 70's Blaxploitation film.  Money, Get Ready & Sweet Lady for people who love real soul music like Sharon Jones, Aloe Blacc, Lee Fields or Alice Russell. Highly recommended!

Reviewed by:


2nd May 2013

Write Review