Mood Matters
  • Genre:Jazz Funk
  • Released:06/05/2013
  • Label:Jazz & Milk Recordings
  • Price:$32.95
  • Add to cart

Contact us

Sign up to the newsletter

Keep in touch with our
monthy emails

Follow us on twitter

Become a fan on

Bookmark and Share
Mood Matters


"Mood Matters" is a defining illustration of Dusty's musical world. With open eyes and ears, in combination with an insatiable appetite for collaboration and experimention, he has constantly straddles the fine line between tradition and modernity. Several years after his successful debut album „Keep It Raw," the Jazz&Milk label founder hits home with this beautiful record, one that highlights how subtle and talented a producer and musician he is. „Mood Matters" proves that an album need not simply commit itself to a genre or two; and in the process ups the ante considerably by featuring a broad spectrum of musical styles, bringing together Dusty's favourite leanings such as Jazz, Funk, Soul, Afrobeat, Latin, percussive Beats and Deep House rhythms, while seeking a natural balance between accoustic, electronic and traditional sounds through the prism of a club-music oriented approach.

Not only does the album feature some of Munich's finest musicians, such as the members of the Bad Jazz Troupe, Jo Junghanss or Beni Brachtel aka Bartellow but it also impresses via its collaborations with a diverse range of international artists. From the beautiful voice of Carla Vallet (France), the amazing guitar rhythms of Kokolo's Ray Lugo (NYC) and Flamenco musician El Pirata (Granada) to the rich production sounds of Sam Irl (Vienna), the hypnotic percussion of Cesar Granados (Panamá City) and the sweeping horn sections of Todd Simon (Los Angeles) - covering a universe of musical talent in all their different shapes, masterfully capturing the deep musical vision of its main architecht.

Informed by his experienced sampling background, Dusty sets a high value to establishing his own characteristic sounds. For the most part, he avoids sampling on „Mood Matters", and instead creates a sound somewhere between nostalgic sampling and a rich modern aestethic by combining the charm of old recording equipment with the benefits of contemporary production methods. This fusion is brilliantly demonstrated on the title track, one that meshes forward-driven house vibes with organic jazz instrumentation.  

Track Listing

  • All There Is feat. Carla Vallet4.06 
  • Seventy Three3.57 
  • Mood Matters4.54 
  • Danse Macabre feat. Bad Jazz Troupe4.34 
  • Longing Lingers feat. Carla Vallet & Bartellow5.42 
  • It's Time5.12 
  • Colors Per Minute5.11 
  • Southern Spirits4.29 
  • Still Keepin' It Raw5.00 
  • Reascend feat. Sam Irl4.20 
  • Under The Same Drum3.45 
  • Lost In Andalusia5.10 
  • Cultura3.19 
  • Mozafrique4.42 

Total running time: 64:21

Write Review