Feelin Good
  • Genre:Beats
  • Released:17/09/2013
  • Label:Warp Records
  • Price:$28.95
  • Add to cart

Contact us

Sign up to the newsletter

Keep in touch with our
monthy emails

Follow us on twitter

Become a fan on

Bookmark and Share
Feelin Good

Nightmares on Wax

‘Feelin' Good' is Evelyn's most musically opulent work yet, sonically rich with orchestration and strings created in Berlin by Jazzanova arranger Sebastian Studnitzky. The album features long-term collaborator and keyboardist Robin Taylor-Firth, drums by German jazz percussionist Wolfgang Haffner, bass from Paul Powell, percussion from Shovell  (The Drum Warrior) and vocals from Mozez (Zero 7).
Nightmares on Wax is an institution, albeit a delightfully different one. Best known in Europe for his ground-breaking ‘90s albums ‘Smokers Delight' and ‘Carboot Soul', and in America for the cinematic lo-funk of 2006's ‘In A Space Outta Sound', Evelyn's recording career and contemporary Balearic vision, filter into the contagious, genial bounce of his seventh studio outing.  For the last seven years he's lived in an Ibizan farmhouse and, while he's Warp Records' longest serving artist, he overwhelmingly focuses on his current projects, letting them revitalize his music.
A major influence on his forthcoming album and live show is George's own club night Wax Da Jam, hosted at Ibiza's oldest club Las Dalias. Here he soundtracks a night of groove, experimentation, percussion and improvisation, alongside guests such as DJ Shadow and Roots Manuva. It's all about ‘Feelin' Good'... "It's been pivotal to my music making," he says, "and also made me think about the new concept of my live show. I've done the full band thing and the sound system thing and now I really want to marry the two and to do so with a real live percussive edge."
NME"The ‘vibe' ... whisks you away to their sunny-side up galaxy of downbeats and afterglows"
BBC MUSIC "Evelyn is exploring his own internal rhythm rather than marching to the beat of another's drum."
PITCHFORK"...a great soundtrack for a low- ridin' cruise around the city in your convertible 1969 Galaxie 500"

Track Listing

  • So Here We Are  
  • Be, I Do  
  • Master Plan  
  • Luna 2 (Feat. Wolfgang Haffner)  
  • Now Is the Time  
  • Give Thx  
  • Eye (Can't See)  
  • Tapestry  
  • There 4u  
  • Om Sweet H(Om)e  
Write Review