• Genre:Lounge
  • Released:24/09/2013
  • Label:Heinz Records
  • Price:$24.95
  • Add to cart

Contact us

Sign up to the newsletter

Keep in touch with our
monthy emails

Follow us on twitter

Become a fan on

Bookmark and Share

Pink Martini

In January 2012, Thomas Lauderdale and their trusty audio engineer Dave Friedlander flew to Los Angeles to visit Thomas’s new friend, Phyllis Diller. While there, Thomas bought a dozen of Phyllis’s bright colorful paintings… and they recorded Charlie Chaplin’s “Smile”, which turned out to be Phyllis Diller’s final recording, and became the soundtrack for the many tributes to her when she passed away six months later.

Thus began the 18-month odyssey to record Get Happy, the long-awaited studio follow-up to 2009′s Splendor in the Grass, an odyssey which featured a calvacade of vocal royalty visiting their Portland studios, including Australian cabaret sensation Meow Meow, sunny French eccentric Philippe Katerine, the handsome and brilliant radio superstar Ari Shapiro, warm-hearted wunder-siblings The von Trapps, and a riveting appearance by the exquisite Rufus Wainwright!

Anchored by their beloved and elegant vocalist China Forbes, alongside their dazzling co-lead-singer Storm Large, finally making her recording debut with them.

‘Get Happy' is Pink Martini's seventh studio album and was recorded at Kung Fu Bakery Studios, in Portland, Oregon over the past year. Lauderdale produced the album along with longtime collaborator Dave Friedlander. Highlights on the album include the opening track, a special first take recording of Phyllis Diller performing Charlie Chaplin's "Smile," as well as a duet by Forbes and Wainwright on "Get Happy/Happy Days." The album also features songs sung in German, Spanish, Japanese, French, Chinese, Farsi, Turkish and Romanian. 

Currently available for a limited time with the Retrospective cd included!

Track Listing

  • Ich dich liebe2.37 
  • Quizas quizas quizas3.19 
  • I'm Waiting For You (feat. Meow Meow)3.20 
  • Omide zendegani3.41 
  • Yo te quiero siempre (feat. Ari Shapiro)3.25 
  • Je ne t'aime plus (feat. Philippe Katerine)4.10 
  • Zundoko2.11 
  • Pana cand nu te Iubeam5.21 
  • She Was Too Good To Me4.48 
  • Uskudar3.06 
  • Sway3.39 
  • Kitty Come Home (feat. Rufus Wainwright with The von Trapps)4.20 
  • What'll I Do?3.17 
  • Get Happy/Happy Days (feat. Rufus Wainwright)2.22 
  • Heliotrope Bouquet1.10 
  • Smile (feat. Phyllis Diller)2.49 

Total running time: 53:35

Write Review