Late Night Tales - Bonobo
  • Genre:Beats
  • Released:18/12/2013
  • Label:Late Night Tales
  • Price:$37.95
  • Add to cart

Contact us

Sign up to the newsletter

Keep in touch with our
monthy emails

Follow us on twitter

Become a fan on

Bookmark and Share
Late Night Tales - Bonobo

Various Artists

Exquisite 2013 compilation of hand-picked faves by Nina Simone, Menahan Street Band, Bill Evans, Lapalux, Dorothy Ashby, Shlohmo and others, plus his own exclusive new cover of Donovan's "Get Thy Bearings".

Stepping forward into the compilers spotlight for the 33rd edition of Late Night Tales is Simon Green - aka Bonobo - a musician, producer and DJ perfectly suited to soundtrack an evening spent reclining to some parallel beats.

Six albums to the good (most recently ‘The North Borders' released earlier in 2013), Green has been on a winning streak since 2010's breakthrough ‘Black Sands', which has now sold in excess of 160,000 copies. Wrapped in delicately programmed drums, Green's music is at once both sombre and reassuring. If what comes out the other end is the music of Bonobo, then this is the fuel that keeps the engine running: soul, jazz, classical, pop, funk, leftfield, rock. Pianos and brass are abundantly present. Our ivories are warmed and tickled by the classic, Bill Evans, and new school, with Matthew Bourne's mournfully beautiful ‘Juliet' and Dustin O'Halloran's ‘An Ending A Beginning'.

The brass section comes courtesy of Menehan Street Band's jazzy ‘The Traitor', ‘Flipside' by the Hypnotic Brass Band. Exclusives include YouTube sensation ‘One Thing' by Peter & Kerry . Not only that, but there's Bonobo's special LNT cover version, a brilliant reading of Donovan's ‘Get Thy Bearings', As the light dims, the unsettling sounds of Lapalux or maybe even Shlomo pierce the misty evening air, before giving way to the ethereal splendour of Eddi Front's ‘Gigantic' or even Nina's paean to an imagined rural idyll ‘Baltimore'.

Track Listing

  • An Ending, A Beginning - Dustin O'Halloran 2.10 
  • A Calf Born In Winter - Khruangbin 3.15 
  • Get Thy Bearings (Feat. Szjerdene) - Bonobo 2.58 
  • Didn't I - Darondo 3.19 
  • Baltimore - Nina Simone 4.30 
  • Flipside - Hypnotic Brass Ensemble 2.29 
  • The Traitor - Menehan Street Band 2.29 
  • Flowers - Andrew Ashong 5.54 
  • Down The Line (It Takes A Number) - Romare 2.51 
  • Places - Shlohmo 3.00 
  • Gutter Glitter - Lapalux 2.37 
  • Wings (Floating Points Remix) - The Invisible 4.08 
  • Hedron - Badbadnotgood 1.55 
  • Viii. Juliet - Matthew Bourne 3.21 
  • Sailing Out To Sea - Matthew Halsall 3.25 
  • South Congress - Airhead 1.30 
  • Essence Of Sapphire - Dorothy Ashby 3.10 
  • One Thing - Peter And Kerry 3.28 
  • Gigantic - Eddi Front 3.20 
  • Peace Piece - Bill Evans 8.39 
  • Flat Of Angles Part 3 - Benedict Cumberbatch 6.32 

Total running time: 75:0

Write Review