Message In The Music: The Ashley Beedle Re-Edits
  • Genre:Soul
  • Released:10/02/2014
  • Label:Harmless
  • Price:$39.95
  • Add to cart

Contact us

Sign up to the newsletter

Keep in touch with our
monthy emails

Follow us on twitter

Become a fan on

Bookmark and Share
Message In The Music: The Ashley Beedle Re-Edits

Various Artists

'Message In The Music: The Ashley Beedle Re-Edits' must hold the world record for being the longest-ever time that a compilation has been in development! The project first began way back in November 2009 and has mutated every year since then, until Harmless finally got the album that they wanted to release. Many of these tunes are appearing on CD for the first time and, as usual, Ashley's superbly eclectic and wide-ranging taste in music has delivered a project which is jam-packed with innovation and experimentation.

Spread over two CDs and featuring 24 tracks, we get jazz-funk, soul, disco and rock edits of Family, Ruth Copeland, Brainstorm, New York Port Authority, Bill Withers, Cymande, Donna McGhee, Doris Duke and many many more - even the Fall get a Beedle edit here! The disc 3 DVD includes an interview with Ashley Beedle.

Track Listing

  • Burlesque - Family (Ashley Beedle Re-Edit)5.35 
  • You’re All That I Need - Ace5.16 
  • I Name This Ship Survival - Cado Belle5.13 
  • Gimme Shelter - Ruth Copeland9.27 
  • Touch Sensitive - The Fall4.21 
  • Long Train Runnin’ - Panama6.23 
  • Hangin’ On - Brainstorm4.18 
  • Rainbow - New York Port Authority6.10 
  • Do It - Los Africanos6.47 
  • Cheeba - The 8th Day6.04 
  • Railroad Man - Bill Withers10.24 
  • For Baby Ooh - Cymande5.56 
  • Guess I’m Gonna Cry - New York Port Authority3.44 
  • Journey To The Light - Brainstorm7.23 
  • Don’t Leave Me - Holland-Dozier7.10 
  • All About The Paper - Gene Chandler6.33 
  • I’m A Love Bug - Donna McGhee5.58 
  • I Need You Girl - The Three Pieces8.34 
  • Keeping Secrets - Switch4.44 
  • Keep Holding On - The Gap Band5.30 
  • In A Week, In A Day - Kyle Auldist6.30 
  • Soul Sleeper - Astra Nova Orchestra5.52 
  • Woman Of The Ghetto - Doris Duke9.17 
  • Whatcha Gonna Do - Heaven N’ Hell9.54 

Total running time: 157:3

Write Review