Free Soul
  • Genre:Jazz
  • Released:03/06/2014
  • Label:Schema
  • Price:$39.95
  • Add to cart

Contact us

Sign up to the newsletter

Keep in touch with our
monthy emails

Follow us on twitter

Become a fan on

Bookmark and Share
Free Soul

Nicola Conte

A brilliantly soulful set from Nicola Conte - a record that's got all the tight jazzy instrumentation we love in his other records, but one that's also got some wonderful vocal work as well! Singers are a perfectly-chosen batch of the best of the underground - and include Jose James, Marvin Parks, Bridgette Amofa, Melanie Charles, Tasha's World, and others - all of whom really help give the record a sense of variety and voice that goes way beyond any of Conte's other records! And the vocals are hardly a commercializing element, either - as the whole thing's got that full, rich, stone classic sound that we can always trust from Conte - a deeply jazzy approach that's rooted in older modal and spiritual jazz styles. Till Bronner plays guest trumpet on one track - and titles include "Shades Of Joy", "Ahmad's Blues", "Soul Revelation", "Baltimore Oriole", "Astral Rivers", "Uhuru", "Sunrise", "A Prayer For Yusef", and "Goddess Of The Sea".

Track Listing

  • Shades of Joy feat. Marvin Parks4.56 
  • Goddess of the Sea feat. Jose James4.21 
  • Free Souls feat. Bridgette Amofah3.39 
  • Spirit Of Nature feat. Melanie Charles 4.21 
  • Ode to Billie Joe feat. Bridgette Amofah6.11 
  • Soul Revelation feat. Tasha's World 4.22 
  • Ahmad's Blues feat. Melanie Charles4.09 
  • If I Should Lose You feat. Marvin Parks3.57 
  • Baltimore Oriole feat. Bridgette Amofah4.22 
  • Uhuru feat. Tasha's World4.25 
  • Sandalia Dela feat. Heidi Vogel 3.32 
  • African Other Blues feat. Marvin Parks, Fabrizio Bosso4.20 
  • Sunrise feat. Logan Richardson4.49 

Total running time: 57:24

Write Review