Life Cycles
  • Genre:Soul
  • Released:01/01/2014
  • Label:Debra Debs Music
  • Price:$42.95
  • Add to cart

Contact us

Sign up to the newsletter

Keep in touch with our
monthy emails

Follow us on twitter

Become a fan on

Bookmark and Share
Life Cycles

Debra Debs

This lovely little 11 tracker is currently getting some serious attention from serious soul tastemakers like Jazz FM's Peter Young. Good old PY knows more than most about decent soul so we here @SJF though it was about time we found out more about Ms Debra Debs. We discovered that singer-songwriter Debra was born in Cameroon but is now London-based. We also learned that 'Life Cycles' is her first full LP - a follow up to a successful 2011 EP  - tracks from which scored countless hits on You Tube.

She describes her musical influences as people like Jill Scott, Lauren Hill, Mary J Blige, R Kelly, Floetry and Ella Fitzgerald... no wonder she calls her music "a crazy blend of NeosoulfulJazzyRnBAfrosoulThings"; I'd prefer to call it great modern soul. And I mean proper modern soul... not the retro grooves that masquerade as "modern soul". Sure, Debra's taken lots from the people who've influenced her (and her mother's extensive jazz collection too) but she's managed to craft her own unique and totally contemporary sound.

Track Listing

  • Caught Up 4.29 
  • Clear My Name 3.30 
  • Love Galore 4.23 
  • Fizzy Lemonade 3.39 
  • Sometimes 3.04 
  • Blew Your Mind 3.58 
  • Daddy 5.18 
  • Blending Colours 4.19 
  • Chasing Dreams 3.57 
  • Speeches 5.39 
  • Fizzy Lemonade (Felo Le Tee Remix) 5.21 
  • Awake With You 4.48 
  • Africa 'Higher Higher' feat. P. Jericho 5.38 

Total running time: 58:3

Write Review