• Genre:Chillout
  • Released:28/03/2014
  • Label:Lemon Grass Music
  • Price:$29.95
  • Add to cart

Contact us

Sign up to the newsletter

Keep in touch with our
monthy emails

Follow us on twitter

Become a fan on

Bookmark and Share


Lots of exciting things are going on in the global Ambient and Electronic Listening scene these days. In an unbiased manner, musical worlds approach each other, that seemed almost incompatible for a long time. Whether acoustic music, contemporary classical music or hip-hop - such styles join a boundless melange to something new, which has an high artistic value, and is gaining new fans in a rapid pace. Roland Voss aka "Lemongrass" is part of this creative stream. Over many years, a distinctive "Lemongrass" sound has been developed in an essential process of maturation. Culminating now with a new album release called "Memoires". 

Already the opener, "Journal Intime" is a wonderful testimony for the derived stylistic fruition. On a creaky-minimal rhythm enfold heart warming, ethereal sound images, peaking in the middle part by the addition of a stunning piano motif. Fine-tuned piano sounds are recurrently defining elements in the further course of the album. In "Liaison", a typical "Lemongrass" bassline groove builds to an airy, buttery soft daydreamer. "Sacred Dreams" fascinates with a deep piano-loop and heavenly backing vocals in harmony with a playful scratchy glitch-hop rhythm. Highlight here is the brief interlude of a cool, distorted guitar. The title of the subsequent "I'm stellar" is almost programmatic for the spiritual flow of the album. Carefully produced in detail, "I'm stellar" is led by a simple guitar melody, on which the track harmoniously unfolds. 

With "Oiseau de Paradis" Roland Voss loosens up his journey with a trip to Mediterranean regions. Sweet summery harmonies awaken anticipation for the warm and light-coloured time of the year. With "Summer fields", we remain a little longer in the sunshine. Wonderfully laid-back, the track grooves along, based on subtle hip-hop elements. Don't be surprised if your head starts nodding on its own, and a broad smile appears on your face. The album continues with some best of lounge music. "Bossa del mar" i    

Track Listing

  • Journal Intime5.43 
  • Liaison4.42 
  • Sacred Dreams5.10 
  • I'm Stellar4.56 
  • Oiseau De Paradis4.08 
  • Summer Fields4.03 
  • Bossa Del Mar4.09 
  • Poetry Without Words4.41 
  • Heartbreaker3.46 
  • Moment De Conscience2.54 
  • Tropical Nights4.39 
  • Shinkansen4.52 
  • Love Is The Answer4.33 

Total running time: 58:16

Write Review

You might also like