Yesterday I Had The Blues: The Music of Billie Holiday
  • Genre:Jazz
  • Released:30/03/2015
  • Label:Decca Records
  • Price:$37.95
  • Add to cart

Contact us

Sign up to the newsletter

Keep in touch with our
monthy emails

Follow us on twitter

Become a fan on

Bookmark and Share
Yesterday I Had The Blues: The Music of Billie Holiday

Jose James

This is the more generically faithful interpretation of nine classic Holiday songs from the fine New York vocalist Jose James. James calls this set a tribute to his “musical mother”, and it partners him with that most constructively supportive of jazz pianists, Jason Moran, and the bass/drums pairing of John Patitucci and Eric Harland. Without striving for big payoffs, James lets the timeless materials of Good Morning Heartache, Body and Soul and Strange Fruit speak for themselves, but his precisely crafted phrasing and occasional improviser’s digressions reinvent this material by the lightest of touches. Moran’s remarkable piano solos are both dramatically independent tributes, and at one with the prevailing mood. James’s silky purr and unsettling calmness bring a scary resignation to Good Morning Heartache; Lover Man emerges over a slow bass vamp and sounds wistful, until the singer unexpectedly fires off “no-one here to LOVE me” as an anguished yelp; and Strange Fruit achingly rises over deep-choral hums and a baleful slow handclap. Jose James has long sounded like the real deal, and never more so than here.

Track Listing

  • Good Morning Heartache5.52 
  • Body And Soul5.56 
  • Fine And Mellow5.10 
  • I Thought About You5.24 
  • What A Little Moonlight Can Do5.37 
  • Tenderly3.24 
  • Lover Man6.41 
  • God Bless The Child6.14 
  • Strange Fruit4.47 

Total running time: 49:5

Write Review