New Songs For Old Souls
  • Genre:Jazz
  • Released:27/04/2015
  • Label:Linn Records
  • Price:$39.95
  • Add to cart

Contact us

Sign up to the newsletter

Keep in touch with our
monthy emails

Follow us on twitter

Become a fan on

Bookmark and Share
New Songs For Old Souls

Joe Stilgoe

Firmly established as a performer and songwriter of considerable skill, Joe Stilgoe gives a masterclass in nostalgia with a contemporary twist.
New Songs For Old Souls is Joes first studio album for Linn Records, following his signing to the label in 2014.
The album comprises twelve songs with ten terrific originals by Joe, including three thrilling big band numbers: Nobody Cares Like Me, Pocket Song and a new version of Gold On Silver, previously heard on Songs On Film Live.

 The term that comes to mind here is quality product.Joe Stilgoe is a songwriter of uncommon originality,a pretty amazing pianist and a singer who doesn't need mannerisms to make an impression. Add to this a couple of dozen of the best musicians around,plus an appearance by the sublime Liane Carroll, and you have an album that you just can't stop playing. Well I couldn't,anyway.There's a touch of 1950s about the orchestrations,an occasional hint of early 60s in the rhythm, but the lyrics have a cool knowingness that is spot-on today. --The Observer - Dave Gelly

His piano-playing ole in the Old Vic's production of High Society should raise his profile no end.Longtime jazz lovers will need no reminding of Stilgoe's talents as a very British version of Harry Connick Jr. While he may hanker after the musical values of yesteryear Louis Prima, Nat King Cole and Gene Kelly all get a namecheck on Two-Tones the pick of the songs, most of them originals, have a modern, funky sheen. A sprinkling of big-band arrangements supplies demure high kicks, too. --The Sunday Times

Music should be fun and the new album from pianist and singer/songwriter Joe Stilgoe is just that. His own compositions (comprising 10 of the 12 songs) are quirky and interesting and there's a nostalgic charm to big band numbers such as Nobody Cares Like Me and Pocket Song. Tom Farmer (bass), Ben Reynolds (drums) and Billy Adamson (guitar) add fine support and there is a sweet duet with Liane Carroll on a cover of Brian Wilson's I Just Wasn't Made For These Times. --The Telegraph

Track Listing

  • Totally3.02 
  • Nobody Cares Like Me3.46 
  • Nothing's Changed4.16 
  • Roll3.40 
  • Rainbows In My Teacup3.25 
  • Pocket Song3.59 
  • I Just Wasn't Made For These Times4.45 
  • How To Fall In Love3.44 
  • Two-tones3.37 
  • You're Funny (But I'm Not In Love)3.22 
  • Too Late Now5.23 
  • Gold On Silver5.04 

Total running time: 48:3

Write Review