Havana '58
  • Genre:Jazz
  • Released:11/11/2016
  • Label:Buyu Records
  • Price:$39.95
  • Add to cart

Contact us

Sign up to the newsletter

Keep in touch with our
monthy emails

Follow us on twitter

Become a fan on

Bookmark and Share
Havana '58

Bahama Soul Club

HAVANA '58, the decadent jet-set heaven when Cuba was a tropical playground. A pleasure dome of sensual overload and rum-fuelled abandon, where shows and showgirls were dazzling, the gambling was high-stakes, and the revellers included Marlon Brando, Ernest Hemingway, Frank Sinatra and J.F.K., to name a few. Mojitos, Mobsters, Mambos & Muchachas. A forbidden, hedonistic world of Rum, Rumba and Roulette.

The full range of Sexual freedom, official corruption, and Mafia control that fuelled the rampant party - until Sylvester 1958 when Fidel Castro's revolutionaries took the floor. On this 4th album The Bahama Soul Club presents a very personal soundtrack, a musical homage, inspired by a vibrant verve that never came back. We encounter a heady blend of glittering nightclubs, outrageous cabarets, fashionable hotels and looking deep into backstreet brothels, empty wallets and bemusing decolletes. The Rumba is everywhere. With the first albums The BSC established an elegant and percussive cocktail of Latin Jazz, Soul, Bossa and Boogaloo and now mixing the dark, sensual, alluring mystic of Tiki and Exotica into it.

What we get is a new caribic long-drink named: HAVANA '58 Genre: Afro-Cuban Jazz Style: 60s/cinematic Sound: Hi-Fidelity-Plus Featuring: Cuba's leading vocal quartet SEXTO SENTIDO, the vivacious OLVIDO RUIZ, singer in the Bahama Soul Club Live band, and again the lovely AREMA AREGA. These ladies were selected by Gilles Peterson for the well-respected Havana-Cultura-Project and reveal their traditional Cuban roots as they combine fun and intellect while smartly ignoring passing fashion. Also there's a very special guest: The American Jazz and Soul singer BRENDA BOYKIN from the mighty Club Des Belugas with the hypnotic "No Words" and the shuffling "Dizzy's Bounce".


Track Listing

  • Something Unique 3.39 
  • No Words feat. Brenda Boykin6.07 
  • Meyer-Lansky feat. Sexto Sentido4.52 
  • Casino de Capri 4.30 
  • Muevelo Papi feat. Olvido Ruiz 3.25 
  • Rumba Fugaz feat. Arema Arega 4.12  
  • Let God feat. Olvido Ruiz3.28  
  • Dizzy´s Bounce feat. Brenda Boykin3.36 
  • Eleggua feat. Sexto Sentido3.45 
  • That´s Why I Said 1.57 
  • Tropicana Flight feat. Sexto Sentido4.16 
  • Night Breeze feat. Olvido Ruiz 3.51 
  • Under the Mojito Moon 4.59 

Total running time: 52:37

Write Review