Let Your Light Shine On
  • Genre:Nu Jazz
  • Released:20/07/2018
  • Label:Edel Germany
  • Price:$42.95
  • Add to cart

Contact us

Sign up to the newsletter

Keep in touch with our
monthy emails

Follow us on twitter

Become a fan on

Bookmark and Share
Let Your Light Shine On

Nicola Conte

The Italian guitarist and bandleader Nicola Conte has recorded his first album for the legendary, recently re-established MPS records. Conte has brought with him his cosmic-cosmopolitan ensemble of stars which includes trumpeter Theo Croker, saxophonists Logan Richardson and Magnus Lindgren, and singer Zara McFarlane. For the most part recorded in Bari, Italy and Johannesburg, South Africa, it is a sensitive work of art that crosses the border between soul and spiritual Afro-jazz.Nicola Conte has cast his vision of cosmic jazz into a seamless tonal design – without restricting his players' freedom, leaving them open to the influences of the diverse cultures. "Everyone should be able to express themselves freely," Conte says; "this album is much more open than my last one. Everything was recorded live and with a minimum of overdubs."

The foundation of "Let Your Light Shine On" is Conte's live band, Spiritual Galaxy. Conte plays guitar and is accompanied by such top international stars as trombonist Gianluca Petrella, who has been awarded "Best Emerging Artist" by the prestigious DownBeat jazz magazine, Swedish tenor saxophonist Magnus Lindgren, and Finnish drummer Teppo Mäkynen. They meet up with pianist Petro Lusso, bassist Luca Alemanno, and singer Bridgette Amofah. The band also includes two up-and-coming stars of the younger generation of jazz musicians from the USA, players who don't shy away from Hip Hop, R&B, and electronic music – alto saxophonist Logan Richardson and trumpeter Theo Croker.

Track Listing

  • Uhuru Na Umoja4.46 
  • Ogun5.26 
  • Cosmic Peace4.51 
  • Universal Rhythm5.11 
  • Mystic Revelation Of The Gods6.10 
  • Let Your Light Shine On4.57 
  • Space Dimensions6.54 
  • Tribes From The Unknown2.06 
  • Me Do Wo7.20 
  • Essence Of The Sun4.47 
  • Love Power4.44 
  • Afro Black5.21 

Total running time: 62:33

Write Review