A Louder Silence
  • Genre:Chillout
  • Released:15/01/2019
  • Label:Night Time Stories
  • Price:$26.95
  • Add to cart

Contact us

Sign up to the newsletter

Keep in touch with our
monthy emails

Follow us on twitter

Become a fan on

Bookmark and Share
A Louder Silence

Leifur James

‘A Louder Silence' is the London-based composer and producer’s first full length release, a recording process which was over a 2 year period. The album attracted immediate support from Pitchfork, KEXP, XLR8R, KCRW, Gilles Peterson’s Worldwide FM, BBC Radio 6 Music DJs, Electronic Sound 9/10, Mixmag 8/10, Future Music UK Album of the Month 9/10.

Leifur’s rich musical influences are laced through the release. Encouraged by his mother, a classically trained pianist, he learned to play the cello in his youth, developing a deep understanding of rhythm and melody that informs his approach to writing electronic music. Leifur plays the piano he grew up listening to in “Mumma Don’t Tell” and samples an indefinable percussive element to drive forward “Suns Of Gold.” “Night and Day” sees cello plucks and long melodic strokes interlink with a grooving synth line. Central to the album is the idea of space. Moments of organic, structured intensity are juxtaposed with stillness and near silence — dark and light; loud and quiet. This also forms the foundation for the album title: A Louder Silence.

Track Listing

  • Alpine2:47 
  • Time5:21 
  • Suns Of Gold4:22 
  • Argonaut7:48 
  • Mumma Don't Tell5:08 
  • Uncle Blue4:27 
  • Night And Day6:26 
  • Salaninam4:14 
  • Red Sea4:52 
  • Osho5:17 

Total running time: 50:42

Write Review