Art of Chill 6: Mixed By I Monster
  • Genre:Chillout
  • Released:11/12/2009
  • Label:Platipus Records
  • Price:$19.95
  • Add to cart

Contact us

Sign up to the newsletter

Keep in touch with our
monthy emails

Follow us on twitter

Become a fan on

Bookmark and Share
Art of Chill 6: Mixed By I Monster

Various Artists

This is Volume 6 in Platipus' best selling series and compilers I Monster deliver a rather splendid mix.

Each CD was mixed and compiled separately by both I Monster members, Dean Honer (previously of Add N to (X), All Seeing I) (CD1) and Jarrod Gosling (CD2).  Both discs take us from downtempo, quirky pop, and electronica into a world that can only be the 'Art Of Chill'.

Containing a number of I Monster exclusives (to be released as a separate digital only EP on 9th November) and sleevenotes from both members on why the tracks mean so much to them.

Best known for the loungy trip-hop track "Daydream in Blue" in 2001, the British production duo I Monster specialize in psychedelic, electronic-tinged pop confections that are often based around samples from easy listening records and other unlikely sources.

Jarrod Gosling and Dean Honer met in their hometown of Sheffield and released their first album "These Are Our Children" in 1999. Around this time Dean got involved in All Seeing I  (who had various hits including "The Beat Goes On" and produced for Britney Spears). I Monster was put on hold for a few years but resurfaced in 2001 with the aforementioned UK Top 20 hit "Daydream In Blue". Since then this track has appeared in countless soundtracks and adverts. I Monster followed this success with the album "Neveroddoreven"

After another extended period out of public earshot, I Monster  reappeared again in early 2009, offering free online downloads of their long out of print debut and issuing a soul-inflected new single, "Sucker for Your Sound", in advance of the album "A Dense Swarm of Ancient Stars", that was released March 2009.

2Cd Import

Track Listing

  • Mort Garson - I've Been Over The Rainbow2.14 
  • Large Number - Pink Jazz2.58 
  • Count Lasher with Lynn Taitt & The Baba Brooks Band - Hooligans2.45 
  • I Monster - The Best (Speak n Spell Mix)3.41 
  • Raymond Scott - Cindy Electronium2.01 
  • Magazine - Parade5.07 
  • Suicide - Cheree4.12 
  • Goblin - Dr. Frankenstein3.23 
  • Tonto's Expanding Head Band - Tranquillium5.54 
  • The Velvet Underground - Pale Blue Eyes5.39 
  • Tim Buckley - Song To The Siren3.22 
  • Siouxsie And The Banshees - Lunar Camel2.52 
  • HK119 - Space Pt 24.16 
  • I Monster - The Plague Village3.52 
  • Yazoo - Winter Kills4.01 
  • The Shangri Las - Past Present & Future2.44 
  • Kings Have Long Arms - The Plastic Weed (Who Bought?)3.19 
  • Happy The Man - Starborne4.25 
  • Big Eyes - Magic Sparks2.10 
  • Third Ear Band - Fleance (2003 Digital Remaster)3.56 
  • Between - Song For Two2.49 
  • Skywatchers - Soul Baptist3.28 
  • Interlude #10.50 
  • Anna Sjalv Tredje - Mossen4.50 
  • Bo Hansson - Lothlorien (2002 Digital Remaster)4.13 
  • Dionne Bregent - Chant D'espoir (Soliste Pauline Vaillancourt)3.29 
  • Interlude #21.14 
  • The Specials - International Jet Set5.37 
  • Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark - Almost3.46 
  • Cibo Matto - Clouds3.22 
  • The High Llamas - The Click And The Fizz4.14 
  • I Monster - Early Morning Robot3.07 
  • Interlude #30.44 
  • Gentle Giant - Black Cat3.49 
  • Michael Nesmith and The Second National Band - You Are My One3.48 
  • Beaver & Krause - Walkin'2.34 

Total running time: 124:45

Write Review