I Learned The Hard Way
  • Genre:Funk
  • Released:02/04/2010
  • Label:Daptone Records
  • Price:$27.95
  • Add to cart

Contact us

Sign up to the newsletter

Keep in touch with our
monthy emails

Follow us on twitter

Become a fan on

Bookmark and Share
I Learned The Hard Way

Sharon Jones & The Dap Kings

Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings are already well known as one of the most exciting acts in the nation for both their explosive live shows and their prolific output of gritty studio recordings. Their breakout release, 100 Days, 100 Nights, sold over 150,000 copies worldwide. This Spring the band will release I Learned the Hard Way, their fourth full-length on Brooklyn's independent Daptone Records. The record marks a bold step forward for a band who almost single handedly stewarded today's return of soul music to its more traditional sound.

Produced by Bosco Mann and recorded on an Ampex eight-track tape machine by Gabriel Roth in Daptone Records' House of Soul studios, the record drips with a warmth and spontaneity rarely found since the golden days of Muscle Shoals and Stax. Sharon's raw power, rhythmic swagger, moaning soulfulness, and melodic command set her firmly alongside Tina Turner, James Brown, Mavis Staples, and Aretha as a fixture in the canon of soul music. From the lush Philly-Soul fanfare that ushers in "The Game Gets Old" at the top of the record, to the stripped down Sam Cooke-style "Mama Don't Like My Man" at the tail, the Dap-Kings dance seamlessly through both the most crafted and simple arrangements with subtlety and discipline. I Learned the Hard Way is the "Daptone Sound" at its best.

Like most of Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings' increasingly impressive and consistent body of work, "I Learned The Hard Way" finds a unique and special way to combine huge horns and Sharon Jones' massive voice with one of R&B and soul's most discussed topics, without making it sound redundant.

Track Listing

  • The Game Gets Old3.55 
  • I Learned The Hard Way3.47 
  • Better Things3.40 
  • Give It Back3.22 
  • Money3.22 
  • The Reason2.20 
  • Window Shopping4.35 
  • She Ain't A Child No More2.35 
  • I'll Still Be True3.48 
  • Without A Heart2.45 
  • If You Call3.00 
  • Mama Don't Like My Man2.31 

Total running time: 39:40

Write Review