The Outsider's Are Back
  • Genre:Funk
  • Released:20/04/2010
  • Label:Luaka Bop
  • Price:$34.95
  • Add to cart

Contact us

Sign up to the newsletter

Keep in touch with our
monthy emails

Follow us on twitter

Become a fan on

Bookmark and Share
The Outsider's Are Back

Kings Go Forth

''A groove-heavy, horn-powered mix of funk and soula powerhouse group, with
three stunning vocalists and an explosive horn section.'' --NPR All Songs Considered

The story of Kings Go Forth starts with Andy Noble. He was born, raised and still lives in Milwaukee, and probably knows more about classic soul, funk, and R&B than anyone you ve ever met. He s a dedicated record collector, an independent label entrepreneur, and the proprietor of the fabled Lotus Land record shop. If you re looking for someone to provide discographical details of, say, the Magic Hat label or to sing the praises of some long-vanished vocalist from Memphis or Birmingham or Cleveland, then Andy s your man. He s that into it.
Andy co-founded KGF with Black Wolf, an immensely talented singer and writer who has performed around Milwaukee since the 1970s. The two met in Andy s record shop circa 2004, and since then have assembled a powerhouse ten-piece soul unit consisting of seven players and three singers that is simply one of the most thrillingly creative new bands to be heard, in any genre, in the U.S.A. today.
Here at last is a band creating its own immediately identifiable sound from a broad palette of classic R&B (mid-Sixties Chicago, early-Seventies Philadelphia, and other sources far more obscure); setting that sound to Black Wolf s timeless lyrics of love and loss, despair and hope, and delivering it all with fierce urgency and undeniable emotional commitment. There is power in KGF s multi-ethnic makeup, in their 25 year age span, and in their unforced command of the soul music idiom. And to date, the soul revival has not produced another band with a vocal blend so rich in tone and feeling.

Andy Noble had decades of music under his belt when he formed Kings Go Forth in early 2007. My parents were scenesters who both owned art galleries in Milwaukee, he recalls. They didn t want to give up aspects of their life just because they had kids, so they were taking us to shows when we were five and six years old
My mom was pretty involved in the Black music scene here. When I was 12 or 13, I was getting into punk and metal pretty much what you d expect of any white kid of that age in that time but I was also exposed to other sounds through my mom, like reggae and jazz. Andy played bass and guitar in various Midwest rock and ska bands while his record habit eventually led to an increasing number of DJ gigs and the opening of Lotus Land.

Black Wolf was born Jesse Davis in 1953 in Port Huron, Michigan. His earliest musical influences came from the Pentecostal Church and from the blues played at home by his singer/guitarist father.
My grandmother was a full-blood Cherokee and my father was a dark-skinned 340-lb. dude. He was one angry Black Indian but he taught me a lot. It was my dad who encouraged the music part and my mom who kept me writing poems that later became song lyrics.

Black Wolf was twelve when his family moved to Milwaukee, and within a few years he was singing and writing for the Essentials, a local group that later recorded a couple of (unreleased) tracks in Curtis Mayfield s Curtom studio. The Essentials could sound very much like the Stylistics, with that high tenor, or we could sing in a hard gospel style like the Mighty Clouds of Joy. We still sound like that whenever we get together, says Wolf.

The KGF rhythm section is comprised of Andy Noble on bass, Dave Wake on keyboards, guitarist Dan Flynn, percussionist Cecilio Negron, Jr. (whose parents were high school classmates of Black Wolf), and the explosive drummer Jeremy Kuzniar (who also engineered the group s first recordings). Also on the album are vocalist Dan Fernandez and rhythm guitarist/vocalist Matt Norberg. Trombonist Dave Cusma and trumpeter Jed Groser are the mainstays of the KGF horn section. 

U.S. Import

Track Listing

  • One Day4.14 
  • I Don't Love You No More4.14 
  • You're the One4.06 
  • Fight With Love3.41 
  • High on Your Love4.15 
  • Paradise Lost5.30 
  • Don't Take My Shadow6.06 
  • Now We're Gone4.01 
  • 1000 Songs4.35 
  • Get a Feeling2.38 

Total running time: 43:20

Write Review