Rhythms Del Mundo: Revival
  • Genre:World
  • Released:09/08/2010
  • Label:Transmission
  • Price:$19.95
  • Add to cart

Contact us

Sign up to the newsletter

Keep in touch with our
monthy emails

Follow us on twitter

Become a fan on

Bookmark and Share
Rhythms Del Mundo: Revival

Various Artists

Featuring some of the brightest stars in music, ‘Revival' is a new offering from Rhythms Del Mundo (RDM) in partnership with the widely-respected Artists Project Earth (APE), a UK NGO focusing on disaster relief and climate change awareness. With each of the tracks given the trademark RDM Afro-Cuban twist, ‘Revival' offers several musical surprises while supporting relief efforts in Haiti, Chile, and  the Tibetan Plateau following the recent catastrophes in these regions.

Particular highlights include the first ever authorized reworking of "A Hard Rain's A Gonna Fall" by Bob Dylan - only the second ever officially sanctioned remix of a Dylan song. Also included on the album are Afro-Cuban reworkings of Dizzee Rascal's chart-topper "Holiday," Franz Ferdinand's "The Dark Of The Matinee" and Gorillaz' "Feel Good Inc." ‘Revival' also features a collaboration between Coldplay and Lele on a stunning version of Coldplay's top-ten hit "Clocks," appropriately entitled "Clocks/Relojes" in keeping with the Cuban spirit of the album.

Other noteworthy contributions include a collection of covers including "I Fought The Law" by Green Day, Wyclef Jean's remake of Bee Gee's classic "Stayin' Alive", and KT Tunstall's cover of Jefferson Airplane's timeless "Somebody To Love."

Commenting on his involvement with the project, award-winning rapper Dizzee Rascal says, "I feel very proud to be given the opportunity to make such a contribution to APE and am glad to be involved in such a huge project that will give much needed help and hope to those suffering in Haiti, Chile and Tibet."

Groove Armada's Tom Findlay further outlines the importance and timing of ‘Revival': "Just because the plight of Haiti is no longer in the media focus, it doesn't mean to say that everything has been sorted out. People still need our help."

Summing up the scope of the ‘Revival' project and its expected impact, APE Founder Kenny Young said, "APE Founder Kenny Young said, "...as the media lens has focused elsewhere, their needs have not diminished. People in Haiti and now Chile and the Tibetan Plateau are still struggling to survive and rebuild their lives. They still need our help."

U.K. Import Cd

Track Listing

  • Rhythms del Mundo feat. Wyclef Jean  Stayin Alive3.25 
  • Rhythms del Mundo feat. Groove Armada  SuperstylinÂ3.57 
  • Rhythms del Mundo feat. Gorillaz - Feel Good Inc.3.25 
  • Rhythms del Mundo feat. Dizzee Rascal  Holiday3.51 
  • Rhythms del Mundo feat. Green Day - I Fought The Law2.45 
  • Rhythms del Mundo feat. Bob Dylan - A Hard Rain´s A Gonna Fall7.00 
  • Rhythms del Mundo feat. Bebe - Smells Like Teen Spirit2.52 
  • Rhythms del Mundo feat. Afrique - Yele Daya (Football Crazy)4.58 
  • Rhythms del Mundo feat. Franz Ferdinand - The Dark Of The Matinee3.58 
  • Rhythms del Mundo feat. KT Tunstall - Somebody To Love3.07 
  • Rhythms del Mundo feat. Coldplay & Lele - Clocks/Relojes4.01 
  • Rhythms del Mundo feat. Shanade - Chain Of Fools4.10 
  • Rhythms del Mundo feat. Augusto Enriquez - Under The Boardwalk2.52 
  • Rhythms del Mundo feat. Zucchero - Baila3.46 

Total running time: 54:7

Write Review