Soul Renaissance
  • Genre:Soul
  • Released:31/05/2010
  • Label:Soulab
  • Price:$29.95
  • Add to cart

Contact us

Sign up to the newsletter

Keep in touch with our
monthy emails

Follow us on twitter

Become a fan on

Bookmark and Share
Soul Renaissance

Allen Hoist

Allen Hoist is a prodigal man, born in New-York. After studying music at the very select "High School Of Performing Arts" (the school from the movie "Fame"), the gifted vocalist & multi-instrumentist (saxophone, flute, cello) took his first steps on stage with such Soul, Jazz & Latin legends as Tito Puente, Dizzy Gillepsie, Millie Jackson, Solomon Burke, Sam & Dave, Ron Carter... and Mongo Santamaria who'll bring Allen Hoist on his first European tour. This tour becomes the start point of a serious love affair between Allen Hoist and Paris... Establishing himself successfully in France, he offers his talent to many bands for numerous live and studio sessions around the world. He then puts together a quintet that includes some of the best parisian players in Jazz & World Music: Mario Canonge, Lynley Marth, Orlando Poleo, Jeff Boudreaux... He puts out a classical jazz album in 2000 called "Just before Spring" (Iris music label) . He also works as an actor, both on stage and in movies. Allen Hoist is a busy-busy man... Today, as a composer, arranger, performer, he works hard to keep soul music alive, collaborating with solid producers in London, Paris & Scandinavia: 4 Hero, Swell Session, Greg Gauthier & Tony L.... He's backed by great live Jazz instrumentalists such as pianist Mario Canonge, bassist Linley Marth, percussionist Ravi Magnifique... Allen Hoist is, of course, on lead & backing vocals, flute, saxophone. The mix of these great talents creates a brilliant combination of acoustic & electronic sounds, that covers the great Black Music full spectrum : Soul, House, Jazz, Broken Beat, Doo Wop, Nu Soul, Afro Beat, Latin, Funk... These recording sessions, entitled "The Retrofuturistic Soul Experience" give a real breath of fresh air unto the soul nation. Allen Hoist's music spreads groove, authenticity & happiness. It's modern soul music... with soul !

Track Listing

  • Soul Inn (Intro)0.17 
  • Inner City Blues6.16 
  • Filthy Mc Nasty5.05 
  • With Love5.51 
  • The Closer I get to you2.46 
  • Lady Marmelade3.27 
  • Summertime4.23 
  • You'll Never Know7.27 
  • Papa Was A Rolling Stone5.02 
  • Soul Out (Outro)0.20 
  • Bonus Tracks: Inner City Blues - MFP Collective Edit5.13 
  • With Love - Dubbed with Love by Raw Deal5.22 
  • Lady Marmelade - Nu Tropix Remix4.04 

Total running time: 55:33

Write Review