Q: Soul Bossa Nostra
  • Genre:RNB
  • Released:09/11/2010
  • Label:Interscope
  • Price:$29.95
  • Add to cart

Contact us

Sign up to the newsletter

Keep in touch with our
monthy emails

Follow us on twitter

Become a fan on

Bookmark and Share
Q: Soul Bossa Nostra

Quincy Jones


Renowned for blending musical genres as he did with his 1989 multi-Grammy winning "Album of the Year" Back on the Block and 1995's platinum Q's Jook Joint, Q: Soul Bossa Nostra will feature an assortment of artists and producers from the Pop, R&B and Hip-Hop worlds such as Usher, Ludacris, Akon, Jamie Foxx, Jennifer Hudson, Mary J. Blige, T-Pain, Robin Thicke, LL Cool J, John Legend, Snoop Dogg, Wyclef Jean, Q-Tip, Talib Kweli, Three 6 Mafia, David Banner, Bebe Winans, Mervyn Warren, Jermaine Dupri, DJ Paul, and Scott Storch, among others who wanted to pay tribute to these works by Jones.

Jones, who serves as Executive Producer for the album commented, "Q: Soul Bossa Nostra features some of my favorite artists and producers on the scene today from the Pop, R&B and Hip-Hop worlds performing selections from my catalog that people really loved when they were originally recorded. Each artist picked a song that really resonated with them for different reasons - some of them having a connection because they remembered their parents playing the track when they were growing up. I am honored that everyone wanted to be a part of this celebration of these songs. They all made them their own, and knocked them out of the park."

Commented singer/producer Akon, "Quincy Jones is a musical legend and an incredible mentor. Just being around him and watching him work over the years has taught me how to develop as an artist and grow as a producer. When Quincy called and told me about this album, I said you have to let me do "Strawberry Letter 23" and the funny thing is that's the song he was thinking about already. We brought a new modern feel to this classic and I think everyone's going to really enjoy it."

Also contributing to Q: Soul Bossa Nostra singer/actress Jennifer Hudson commented, "When I was asked to work on a project honoring Quincy Jones' songs my answer was an immediate YES!!!. He is an icon in our industry and to have been fortunate enough to work with him is just amazing. He is a true artist, genius and professional. It was an unforgettable experience and I truly hope I will have the chance to collaborate with him again very soon!!"

A 27-time Grammy Award winner (the most of any living musician) and the all-time most nominated Grammy artist with a total of 79 nominations, Quincy Jones' career has spanned six decades and encompassed the roles of composer, arranger, conductor, instrumentalist, record producer, record executive, film and television producer, magazine founder, multi-media entrepreneur and humanitarian.

As a master inventor of musical hybrids, Quincy Jones has shuffled pop, soul, hip-hop, jazz, gospel, blues, classical, African and Brazilian music into many dazzling fusions, traversing virtually every medium, including records, live performances, movies, television, broadcasting and magazine publishing.

Named by Time Magazine as one of the six most influential Jazz artists of the 20th Century, Jones won the first of his many Grammy Awards in 1963 for his Count Basie arrangement of "I Can't Stop Loving You." His three-year musical association as conductor and arranger with Frank Sinatra in the mid-60's also teamed him with Basie for the classic Sinatra At The Sands, containing the famous arrangement of "Fly Me To The Moon," the first recording played by astronaut Buzz Aldrin when he landed upon the moon's surface in 1969.

As producer and conductor of the historic "We Are The World" recording (the best-selling single of all time), Michael Jackson's multi-platinum solo albums, Off The Wall, Bad and Thriller (the best-selling album of all time), and the multi-Grammy winning Album of the Year Back On The Block, Quincy Jones stands as one of the most successful and admired creative artist/executives in the entertainment world.

U.S. Import

Track Listing

  • Ironside (Feat. Talib Kweli)3.54 
  • Strawberry Letter 23 (Feat. Akon)3.53 
  • Soul Bossa Nostra (Feat. Ludacris, Naturally 7 and Rudy Currence)4.08 
  • Give Me The Night (Feat. Jamie Foxx)3.44 
  • Tomorrow (Feat. John Legend)4.32 
  • You Put A Move On My Heart (Feat. Jennifer Hudson)4.59 
  • Get The Funk Out Of My Face (Feat. Snoop Dogg)3.11 
  • Secret Garden (Feat. Usher, Robin Thicke, Tyrese Gibson, LL Cool J, Tevin Campbell and Barry White)5.53 
  • Betcha Wouldn't Hurt Me (Feat. Mary J. Blige, Q-Tip and Alfredo Rodriguez)7.05 
  • Everything Must Change (Feat. Bebe Winans)5.24 
  • Many Rains Ago (Oluwa) (Feat. Wyclef Jean)4.57 
  • P.Y.T. (Pretty Young Thing) (Feat. T-Pain and Robin Thicke)4.06 
  • It's My Party (Feat. Amy Winehouse)2.36 
  • Hikky-Burr (Feat. Three 6 Mafia and David Banner)2.55 
  • Sanford and Son (Feat. T.I., B.o.B., Prince Charlez and Mohombi)4.08 

Total running time: 65:25

Write Review