Colman Brothers
  • Genre:Jazz Fusion
  • Released:30/05/2011
  • Label:Wah Wah 45s
  • Price:$29.95
  • Add to cart

Contact us

Sign up to the newsletter

Keep in touch with our
monthy emails

Follow us on twitter

Become a fan on

Bookmark and Share
Colman Brothers

Colman Brothers

It's here! Two of the finest jazz musicians in the country produce an album of exceptional craft and quality, that will not only make you NEED to get up and dance but can also deliver emotional punches that will leave you laid out in a beautiful daze!

This is the latin influenced jazz soundtrack to the greatest 60s movie they never made! We still can't get over how special this album is at Wah Wah Towers!

Inspired as always by 60's and 70's jazz and samba, typical of legends such as Freddie Hubbard & Horace Silver, and groups like Peter Herbolzheimer's Rhythm Combination & Brass, the Colman Brothers' eponymous debut combines the influences of this golden age with their own deft production skills, and a little vocal assistance from Colman sister, Sara.

The opening track, "Mr. DG" is a fitting tribute to Dizzy Gillespie himself, and the latin flavoured "Momo" a quirky little number that's sure to raise a smile or two; whereas the rather more ominous cut "The Chief" brings to mind 70's spy soundtracks, and the sultry "Some Other Wonder" (featuring Sara Colman on vocals) and "On A Better Day" are stirring moody late night beauties. Then there are the trademark Colman dance floor monsters too of course, in the shape of "Sem Amor", "El Nino" and its younger sibling "Another Brother", plus some forward thinking remix work courtesy of the boys themselves of the latter, and the classic single "She Who Dares". A heavyweight album we're sure you'll agree!

"I like everything the Colman Brothers do!" Gilles Peterson (Radio 1)


"I really really like the Colman Brothers album; it's simply a wonderful contemporary jazz album! Will support on my radio show and dj sets for sure!" DJ Makala (Lovemonk, Spain)

"I've been familiar with the Colman Brothers since their excellent El Nino 45 from a year or so back, so I was delighted to receive this, their debut album. It doesn't disappoint. The style is mainly live musicians playing over sampled grooves - in this case, mainly 60's Bossa & Samba, and it works well. I'd gotten bored of that much-copied recent fashion of the Italian Jazz Latin Quartet with club beats under it - type Jazz Dance, but this sounds very fresh indeed. The samples have been used intelligently and the playing is fantastic. I'm sure this is going to do very well, and at least on the dancefloors of the more intelligent left-field clubs." Snowboy (Blues & Soul)


Track Listing

  • Mr. DG4.16 
  • Another Brother (Album Version)5.23 
  • Momo3.51 
  • Sem Amor3.55 
  • The Chief5.53 
  • She Who Dares (Remix)3.52 
  • Some Other Wonder4.44 
  • El Nino5.03 
  • On A Better Day5.22 
  • Another Brother (Remix)3.22 

Total running time: 45:41

Write Review