• Genre:Pop
  • Released:13/09/2011
  • Label:Warner Bros Records Inc.
  • Price:$24.95
  • Add to cart

Contact us

Sign up to the newsletter

Keep in touch with our
monthy emails

Follow us on twitter

Become a fan on

Bookmark and Share


Spending her early years gigging around her native New Zealand, it was only once Kimbra borrowed a small eight-track recorder from her school's music department that her song writing blossomed in earnest. This new tool opened up a new perspective, leading to a flurry of tracks that featured her signature layered vocals, including the inkling that became single 'Settle Down'. Discovered at the tender age of 17, Kimbra relocated to Melbourne to follow her musical path. Kimbra's debut record Vows, three and-a-half years in the making, charts not only her growth and development musically over this time, but personally as well. Recorded and arranged at home as well as in various studios, it presents her unique worldview on life and love. Even at twenty-one years of age, Kimbra already possesses the maturity and musical sophistication of the mavericks she is so often compared to - from vocal legends Nina Simone and Jeff Buckley, to radicals the likes of Prince, and contemporary artists such as Bjork and Janelle Monae. Kimbra self-produced Vows alongside Australian Urban export M-Phazes (Amerie, Pharoahe Monch) and the refined skills of Fran ois T taz (Bertie Blackman, Gotye); whose focus on imagery taught her to treat the album like a film.

Track Listing

  • Settle Down4.17 
  • Cameo Lover4.03 
  • Two Way Street4.29 
  • Old Flame4.27 
  • Good Intent3.32 
  • Plain Gold Ring4.03 
  • Call Me4.32 
  • Limbo3.52 
  • Wandering Limbs5.27 
  • Withdraw4.07 
  • The Build Up8.21 

Total running time: 51:10

Write Review