• Genre:Lounge
  • Released:15/11/2011
  • Label:Heinz Records
  • Price:$32.95
  • Add to cart

Contact us

Sign up to the newsletter

Keep in touch with our
monthy emails

Follow us on twitter

Become a fan on

Bookmark and Share

Pink Martini & Saori Yuki

2011 Release. Widely considered to be the Barbra Streisand of Japan, Saori Yuki released her debut album in Japan in 1969 and went on to make over 30 albums in her 42 years. Yuki discovered Pink Martini after the band covered her song Taya Tan for their 2007 album Hey Eugene! Most recently, she sang a verse of Silent Night in Japanese for the band's hit 2010 holiday album Joy To The World. In honor of the year of her debut release, Saori Yuki partnered with Pink Martini and producer Thomas M. Lauderdale to create a loving tribute to the music released in 1969. Featuring Japanese pop hits alongside internationally recognized tunes like Jorge Ben's Mas que nada and Puff the Magic Dragon, 1969 is a brilliant collaboration featuring Thomas M. Lauderdale's magical arrangements, Pink Martini's stellar musicianship, and Saori Yuki's soaring vocals.

Track Listing

  • Yuuzuki (Evening Moon) 3.19 
  • Mayonaka no bossa nova (Midnight Bossa Nova)3.18 
  • Du soleil plein les yeux (Eyes Full Of Sun) 3.29 
  • Puff, the Magic Dragon 3.52 
  • Li janaino shiawase naraba (It's Okay if I'm Happy) 3.36 
  • Blue Light Yokohama 2.52 
  • Yoake no scat (Melody for a new dawn)3.18 
  • Mas que nada 2.37 
  • Is That All There Is? 4.13 
  • Watashi mo Anata to Naite ii? (Consolation)3.36 
  • Wasuretainoni (I want to forget you, but...)2.55 
  • Kisetsu no ashioto (Footsteps of the seasons) bonus track3.47 

Total running time: 40:52

Write Review